Question: what happens when I archive something in XPunch, be it members, tasks, projects, or clients?
Answer: archiving essentially makes the item(s) colloquially "out of sight, out of mind." It "hides" the item from normal operations without deleting it. I've prepared a video that explains this in greater detail.
As you can see in the video, archiving members is a great way to deactivate users (you're actually deactivating a group member, not a user account, but that's a different story).